Set Apart feature: Lindsay Garrod

Hello fellow internet friends, I would like to introduce you to my sweet friend Lindsay she is such a beautiful person inside and out and her love for Jesus is contagious. Let’s go!
What does the phrase set apart mean to you? 
 
Lindsay: When I hear the phrase set apart, a picture comes to my mind. 
I see a child on their birthday opening presents. Friends and family watching, the
seemingly never ending pile of presents, the laughter,everything. It is an exciting time,
but that child’s focus is only on the gifts they are opening.
The anticipation of each new gift is overwhelming and you can see the child having a
hard time even giving notice to the previous gift that was opened.
Then the child opens that one gift that just trumps the rest.
This present fulfills every wish and desire this child had on their birthday. 
They immediately start making plans for this new toy and wait with anticipation to
be able to go play with it. Opening the rest of the presents just doesn’t matter anymore,
and their attention has been lost to this toy. This child has chosen this toy above the
rest,has made special plans for it, and has no desire to share it at all. This is
the toy that has been set apart from the rest as the favorite.  
 
Do you get the picture?  
 
This is what set apart means to me. I think of that special toy, and how there are so 
many plans, hopes and dreams for that toy. There are plenty of other toys to play with,
but this one holds a greater role in that child’s life. This toy is special.  
 
I like to think that being set apart is much like this. There are so many other
options God has, BUT I am his prized possession. I am the one gift that he has chosen,
apart from the rest, to do many great things. He has plans for me. He has hopes for me.
He has dreams for me. He can’t keep his attention and affections away from me. And 
everyone can see it!  
 
The best part, is this is how he feels towards anyone whom he has set apart.
Anyone who chooses to take up the call and walk as one set apart for him. 
 
Tell us a little about yourself. 
 453
Lindsay: My name is Lindsay and I am 24 years old. I grew up in Ohio, second oldest of 7
children. Life growing up was never boring, to say the least.
My family life really shaped me into who I am today. I never thought I would leave that
small town life, but through a series of events, Jesus led me to leave everything I know
and move across the country to Los Angeles, CA.
I can honestly say this is the best decision I have ever made.
I have been here for 4 years and they have been some of the best years of my life.
LA is home, that is until Jesus calls me elsewhere… 
 
 
What do you do for a living? 
 
Lindsay: I realize that most people have one or two things they do for a living, but I
have quite a few so bear with me 🙂 I am currently a teacher for
Dream Center Academy Elementary.
I teach the 2 and 3 year old class and I love every minute of it.
It is crazy at times, but it is truly the most rewarding job to have. 
 
I also run an extracurricular activities program for children through Angelus Temple. 
Saturday mornings we have different classes available to the children
of the church and community. 
 
I am also a respite caregiver, and help out a family who has several children with
special needs. 
In addition to all of that, I am a sound engineer, so I spend much of my free time
in the recording studio here at The Dream Center.
This involves, setting up, recording people,editing files, and so much more.
I am always ready to learn more about the recording
process,and I love to teach new people who feel the same way. 
 
How to did you get into doing all of these ? 
 
Lindsay: Most of these things kind of just fell into my lap. I got into the studio business 
my second year in LA. I was a part of a program called The Dream Center Leadership School and I served in the studio the entirety of my second year. I actually ended up staying on full time in the studio after I graduated.
I come from a musical family, and I myself
love playing and singing, but when I was opened up to the 
other side of music, I fell in love! I love getting to be a part of making other
people’s dreams come true. 
  
The family I work for, with the special needs children, I met my first year out here. 
Their home quickly became my own and when the position opened up,
they asked me immediately. I was already over there most of the time, so it just kind of 
worked out. 
 
The extra curricular activities program came along this past year. I was called into a 
meeting, where they told me the vision of this program and asked me if I would
like to build it up. I gladly accepted and am still in the process of building and revising.
It’s definitely some work, but I love it. 
 
I never in a million years thought I would be a teacher. Seriously, I remember specifically
telling my mother I would NEVER be a teacher. Funny how God takes our nevers
and turns them into something. Over the summer I stepped in and started
volunteering as the 2 and 3 year old teacher, since their teacher had moved and they didn’t have anyone else.I was just part time over the summer, but before
our school year started, I was hired as the full time teacher for the class. I never knew 
I would love it so much. It is exhausting for sure, but these kids are so precious
and I love being their teacher! 
 
 
 
So, I know you live in Los Angeles currently. What are some of your favorite places to 
go there? 
 
Lindsay: The beach!!!! I know it is so cliche, but I am a total beach bum. I love spending 
days off relaxing in the sun or playing in the waves. I often find myself driving to the
beach at night too, just to go think or clear my mind. Southern California has some
pretty amazing beaches.
We also have amazing places to go hiking just outside of the city.
I love hiking and going on adventures, so I try and get out to the mountains as often as I can! Basically, I just love being outdoors and 
exploring all there is. 
 
Even if I can’t get out of the city, there are great places to explore within. Sometimes 
I’ll just start walking and see where I end up. I live in Echo Park/Silver Lake area,
and it’s a pretty sick area to explore. Lots of neat little shops and tons of great
food joints!
LA in general has some of the best food places. I love trying new things! 
 
My favorite place in this city is the Griffith Observatory. I love going up there
 because you get an amazing view of the entire city. It’s absolutely stunning (when it’s not covered by a layer of smog that
is). The best time to go up there is after it has rained. The clear view will take your
 breath away for sure! 
 
What is something you love to do on your free time? 
 
Lindsay:I spend a lot of my free time with the family I live with. I love to take the kids 
down to the local farmer’s market, or go swimming with them. We always have so
much fun together.
Honestly, when I do have free time, I just love spending it with people who
mean the world to me. Whether it’s having a bonfire, or reading together in a park,
as long as I get to be with them I am happy. I do enjoy playing my guitar and
piano as well.
Sometimes it’s nice to break away from everything and everyone and just be
with my music. 
 
And if I am honest… Netflix is a great way to enjoy some time off 😉 
 
 
How did you become a follower of Jesus? 
 
Lindsay: It’s funny, because this used to be my least favorite question to answer, only
because I don’t have some crazy come to Jesus story.
That is until Jesus showed me that there is beauty in my story as well.
I grew up in a Christian home and was always at a church service.
My family was active in our church. My dad was a part of the worship band and my
mom (having so many children herself) was always involved with the children’s ministry
in someway. My best friends were at church and it was basically second home for me.
Looking back, I couldn’t tell you a specific date or age where I officially accepted 
Jesus into my heart. I know I said the sinner’s prayer several times, but it was 
never this crazy life turning moment for me. I can honestly say that I don’t
remember a time in my life where I didn’t love Jesus.
I was always having conversations with him because he was my friend. He was always there.
found comfort in him when I was sad.
I can remember as a young child, whenever I got scared, just retreating to my room
or to a quiet place so I could talk to him. He was my constant. He was and is my 
best friend. I understood at an early age that he was the one who would get me
through this life, and if I didn’t have it, it would be a very difficult life.
Even though I don’t have a crazy story, it is a beautiful one.
I fell in love with my God because he was always there,
and to me that is beautiful. He drew me to him, and forever changed the
course of my life because of it. 
 
What is something God has been teaching you lately? 
Lindsay:
He. 
Is. 
Good. 
 
I know it is one of the simplest truths, but it is so powerful. This past year has been a 
whirlwind of crazy for me. God has asked me to hold on to nothing but his words.
To believe in the impossible for my life and to trust him every step of the way. It is a lot
easier said than done. I have been battling truly trusting that the things he has spoken to
me will come to pass. They seem so impossible to me. And there is no way they will come to pass unless God does it. If I am being honest here, I have doubted God,
questioned his goodness and his intentions in my life. I have called him cruel and
heartless. I have asked him if he finds joy in mocking me. Yea, it sounds bad but it’s
where I was. The craziest thing is,in spite of all of that, I have never felt or been closer to
him.
By keeping things real with him, he has been able to step in and meet me where I am.
Every single day for the past year I have held on to this one thing… 
He. 
Is. 
Good. 
 
When I don’t understand, when I can’t comprehend his ways, when the things he has
promised seem so far away, I know he is good.
I have said it over and over and over again,
letting the truth of those three words sink in.
He. Is. Good. It’s who he is. He can’t be
anything but good. And saying over and over and over again, holding on
tightly to that truth, has produced much fruit in my life. I can stand before
you now and say that I do believe the promises will come to pass. 
I do fully trust in my God.
Even though circumstances say something else, and the promises still feel far away,
if not further, I know that because God has spoken, they will come to pass because… 
 
HE. IS. GOOD! 
 
 
 
If there is one thing you could tell your teenage self what would it be? 
 
Lindsay: Keep on trucking though.  
My teenage years were rough, and my whole world was falling apart, but somehow I 
managed to pull through. I would just encourage myself to keep trusting God and keep
holding onto him.
He used every single struggle and disappointment to bring me closer to him.
Through it all, he stood by my side and because of those hardships, he was able to
mold me into the woman I have become.
I would encourage myself to let go and just let God.
Everything that we went through brought us one step closer to where we are today,
and we are in a great place! We are living the life God created and crafted just for us! 
 
 
I know we talked about it a little when I saw you last but I know God has given
you the gifts of dreams.
I know having the gift myself how wonderful and interesting this gift is, 
can you share some advice for someone who God gives dreams to that
maybe you have learned or are currently learning? 
Lindsay:
Write every dream you have down. 
You may not understand the dreams, but more often than not, God is trying to speak
 something to you through your dreams. They are his language.
When you sleep, there’s not as much that can get in the way of him speaking.
If you know anyone who is gifted in dream interpretation (biblical), go ahead and 
open up to them about your dreams. Dreams can be very metaphoric so it is good to
get other views one them. I, myself, am not great at interpreting dreams,
but I dream almost every night. They are two separate giftings. God has brought
several people into my life who are gifted in dream interpretation, as well as many dreamers.
They have all been so influential in me learning how to understand my dreams 
and the significance behind them. If you don’t have anyone around you, ask God to
open up the doors for new relationships to be born.
He has blown my mind with the amount of people who are dreamers
or interpreters who were right in front of me the whole time.
I have a community of people who love God and who are passionate
about understanding his voice. He is so faithful to give you community 
when you ask for it.
And be patient. God may speak something to you now that is for a later time. 
Habakkuk 2:2-3 says: 
And the Lord answered me; 
“Write the vision; 
Make it plain on tablets, 
So he may run who reads it. 
For the vision awaits its appointed time; 
It hastens to the end- it will not lie. 
If it seems slow, wait for it: 
It will surely come; it will not delay. 
 
As a dreamer, this is the promise within scripture that I hold fast to. God has chosen me
 to reveal certain thing to through dreams. Just because they haven’t come to pass, doesn’t mean they won’t.He is faithful. And his timing is perfect.
Remember that.
Ask him for revelation and understanding, as well as wisdom
when it comes to your dreams. After all, he is the one who gives them in the first place! 
 
 
Is there any last words of encouragement you can give some of the readers on being 
who God created them to be, pursuing their dreams and living set apart for Jesus? 
 
Lindsay: Seek him first. When God is your number one, nothing else matters in life. 
People will fail you. You will fail you. God will not. He will remain constant will all else
is shaking.
You will never become who he has created you to be if you don’t seek him.
Think of it this way, the professional athletes who win gold medals didn’t get
that way by halfheartedly training. They studied their profession. 
They trained day and night. Their life became that sport It is all they know.They didn’t become the best over night,they worked hard for it.
It is the same way with us as Christians. We cannot fully become the people we are
called to be until we fully embrace the one who has called us. 
We will never know who we are supposed to be if
we don’t know the one who created us.
If we truly want to reflect Jesus and all the things
he has stored up for us, we have to be
chasing him wholeheartedly. 
We are created in his image, this means he made us to
be in his likeness. 
How are we supposed to be like him if we don’t even know him.
He has given us everything we need to get to know him. He has given us access to
heavenly storehouses filled with wonderful treasures that are all ours.
However, unless we choose to get to know him, unless we choose to pursue him,
none of that matters. We cannot access the things he has
for us if we choose not to access him. He has faithful pursued us
from the beginning of time. He has set us apart and chosen us to be his, to be just
like him. He is waiting for us. If you truly want to embrace everything he has for you,
you must first truly embrace him. It isn’t always easy. You will have trials and 
tribulations, but he is right there to walk you through them.  
 
I’ll leave you with this truth that God spoke to me many years ago.
I was going through a season where I wasn’t satisfied with my relationship with God.
I knew there was so much more potential and I knew that he had more for me. I was
constantly praying for God to take me deeper and to lead me to a place I’ve never
 been with him. 
“I just want more of you God” was my daily prayer. 
Well, in response to these prayers, God answered me through a dream.
In this dream God and I were talking and he said to me, 
“If you want more of me, you must come to me. 
If you desire to be closer, spend more time with me. I will be faithful to you.
To those who seek me out desperately, I will give myself.”
 When I woke I asked God about it and
 he said to me
“Lindsay, to the extent that you seek me, I will give myself to you.” 
In that moment it really hit me… I am the only one who is keeping myself from God. 
He will always give himself to us as believers.
It is just up to us how much of him we will get.
 If you really want to live the best life he hasfor you, if you really want to be a light in this dark world, seek him first. He loves it
when his children want more of him, and he willfully gives everything he has to us.
And the most beautiful part of it all is this – there will always be more of him to be had.
We will never reach our max limit when it comes to going deeper and being closer with
 our Creator.
He is unending, which means our journey, our relationship with him, too, is unending.
So I encourage you to take a chance, 
dig a little deeper, and join me, along with so many others, on this journey of 
discovering who we are in Christ.
I can promise you it will be the most exciting journey you’ve ever been on. 
He is just waiting to pour himself into you…
Will you let him? 
466.JPG
Thank you Lindsay for sharing your heart with us! There is so much wisdom in her answers! I am telling you when you live for God he has so much adventure for your life just like Lindsay said now go jump into the life he has for you!!
Until next time,
Steph O.
Leave a Reply

